Monthly Bookish Awesomeness: July 2015

In which I recap what went down in the last four weeks here and outside the blog.

July had been utterly wondrous. I met the lovely Robyn Schneider—as smart and funny and nerdy as her work. My dearest godson Carlisle, who is the adorablest, turned three. I was more actively present in our church than ever and still had the energy to help organize a bloggers/readers meet up. I had my visa interview. And on top of these I managed to blog regularly and finish six (6!) books. Time is a peculiar thing.

Books I Read

Extraordinary Means 02Fans of the Impossible Life 02The Night We Said Yes 02

Other Stuff I Posted

Book Birthdays

Paperweight   You and Me and Him 01   Go Set a Watchman 01

Happy book birthday to Paperweight (7th, HarperTeen), You and Me and Him (7th, HMH Books for Young Readers), and Go Set a Watchman (14th, Harper), which all found a place in the shelves this month!

Book Radar

Never Always Sometimes 01   Percy Jackson's Greek Heroes 01   Another Day 01   The Rest of Us Just Live Here 01

This coming month, I’m excited for Never Always Sometimes (4th, Harlequin Teen), Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes (18th, Disney Hyperion Books) (!!!!!), Another Day (25th, Alfred A. Knopf BFYR), The Wild Ones (25th, Philomel Books), and The Rest of Us Just Live Here (27th, Walker Books).

Gold Star

#BOOKWORMSUNITE YOU GUYS!!!

It’s strange how we pulled this off but we did. Three weeks maybe. Three weeks was all it took to, in a whim, suggest a meet up, get an enthusiastic response, brainstorm, put the words out and make it happen. But stranger is the event itself. Stranger is people actually showing up. Stranger is people actually having fun. In fact, standing in that room, in a coffee shop roughly sixty miles from home, I’ve never felt more myself, more at ease with my own skin, amongst people I’ve only either met briefly before or known online. Some even were just introduced that afternoon. But I felt the camaraderie. It was heartwarming. And I’m grateful Dianne, Hazel, Inah, Faye and Aimee all said yes that fortunate day.

Shannelle 01Eriele 01image

Around the Interwebs

Now that I actually have a news feature, aptly called Unmissable Weekly, there will be less items in this section.

How was your month? What was the amazing book or film or music or dessert you consumed? Is there a post you think I should check out? Also, HAVE YOU READ Go Set a Watchman? Sound of in the comments below!

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

Signature 02

10 thoughts on “Monthly Bookish Awesomeness: July 2015

  1. Happy birthday to Carlisle, and what a coincidence; my little cousin, Zayne, just turned 3. Time is indeed a peculiar thing. My exact reaction to that was, “PREACH, MIEL.” I’m happy not to be the only one in the universe not to like Hollywood Witch Hunter. Oh man, you just reminded me of the terrible incident with Tommy this month. Ugh. Your handwriting is to die for! It’s SO gorgeous, oh my goodness! I’m loking foreward to reading everything sans Greek Heroes on your radar. DYING TO READ PAPERWEIGHT.

    AWWWWW. Tam-Tam? THAT HAS TO BE THE MOST ADORABLE NICKNAME I HAVE EVER SEEN! I bet he hates it. I loved that post, but who didn’t? I love that you mentioned John because he is one of my favorite people. JOHN HAS TO BE THE BEST HUMAN OF ALL TIME. I’m so happy you mentioned this, and you should scroll to my favorite posts in the blogosphere in my wrapup; John wrote a wonderful article on queerness and identity policing which had me WOW. WOW, OMG WOWWWWWWWW-ing FOR HOURS. Can I say again that your photo for FANS was brilliant? Because, I love it. I really do.

    My month can be summed up in this monthly wrapup; https://oreoandbooks.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/july-wrapup/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have your Wrap-Up in my tabs; will get to it after responding to comments. But, wait, what is this terrible incident with Tommy? And yeah, my experience with Hollywood Witch Hunter is saddening especially since Valerie is such a gracious person. And you’ll be sure to hear all about Greek Heroes once I get my hands on a copy.

      So Tam-Tam. He doesn’t mind it which INFURIATES ME. Haha! I’m only half kidding.

      John is super awesome! I love what he adds into the LGBT dialogue and all these conversations. And can I say thank you again?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I bet he’s pretending to not be bothered just because he knows it will piss you off. 😉 John is so “Aw, shucks” about it, too, and that’s just so sweet. Of course you can!

        Like

  2. OH MY GOD. IF I DIDN’T KNOW THAT JON SNOW SPOILER I WOULD BE HORRIFIED AT YOU RIGHT NOW. WHY IS THE WORLD SO INTENT ON SPOILING GAME OF THRONES FOR THE NEWBIES. *collapses sobbing* Jon Snow is ma baby. He can’t be dead. Noooooo.
    *composes self*
    ANYWAY. 😉 Glad you had such a fun (and busy) month! July seemed to take aaaages for me, gawsh, but I can’t WAIT for August because there are a lot of delicious books releasing and I’m excited. *flails*

    Like

    1. OH MY GODS YES! THAT WAS TOTALLY INCONSIDERATE ON MY PART! OH DANG. OH BOOOY. I WILL EDIT THIS POST FOR THE SAKE OF OTHER READERS.

      Thank you, Awesome-Cait! And yeah, let them have delicious books!

      Like

  3. #BookwormsUnite sounds SO SO SO AWESOME, and I’m ridiculously proud of you and the other bloggers for organising such a lovely event. And Book Radar is such a lovely mini-feature, since I always lose track of what books are coming. Also, your “blogger blurb” is very well deserved indeed. Seriously, I don’t think I’ve read another blog with such amazing diverse book reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ALYSSA! Between you, Summer and Wesaun, I don’t know what I did to deserve such generous comments. MY HEART IS ONE MASSIVE SWELL OF A MASS RIGHT NOW. Thank you thank you thank you! Bookworms Unite was a blast!

      Like

  4. John Hansen is so incredibly awesome. He is fantastic, and those cards— squee. Endless squees. I don’t know how I wasn’t aware of them, but thank you so much for linking, Shelumiel! They are utterly fantastic. Now I have to go tell him how fantastic he is on Goodreads.
    xx

    Like

What are your thoughts?