Unmissable Weekly: July 17, 2015

Bookish and Awesome’s weekly round-up of buzz-worthy news from around the bookternet in bite size. Click on the links to be directed to the full articles.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone Deluxe Illustrated Edition 01via

Waddup you fantastic bookworms? Today, I’m introducing a new feature and, as the tag line explains, it’ll be a weekly round-up of bookish news (including ones about movie adaptations) I think you shouldn’t miss. Grab your coffee or tea and let’s get started.

“I can’t say a lot but I am back this season, and it’s going to get particularly interesting with Bran. He has some interesting visions,” [Isaac Hempstead-Wright] teased.

At least there’s one Stark returning on Game of Thrones next season.

*********

The pages, she said, appear to be the original manuscript of Mockingbird. And Watchman itself, she writes, was sitting “underneath a stack of a significant number of pages of another typed text”.

What now, are we going to have a complete third Harper Lee novel?

*********

The Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone Deluxe Illustrated Edition will be exclusively available on Bloomsbury.com beginning in November and features a “pull-out double gatefold of Diagon Alley” plus “intricate foiled line art by Jim Kay on a real cloth cover and slipcase; gilt edges on premium grade paper; head and tail bands and two ribbon markers.”

I’m sure everyone’s excited about this BUT there’s one little detail you should know before hitting those pre-order buttons: this Deluxe Edition costs £135 ($210) after Bloomsbury.com’s 10% discount.

*********

More than 250 Italian authors have written to the mayor of Venice asking him to remove their books from the city, in an act of solidarity with the writers who have seen their picture books about same-sex families pulled from Venice’s schools.

Not only is this incredibly appalling, it is also ignorant.

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

16 thoughts on “Unmissable Weekly: July 17, 2015

  1. New feature, yessssss. 210 dollars?! Really? Robbery.
    The Venice thing grates on my nerves…how long will the hatred continue to go on? It’s good, although bittersweet, to see authors joining together to fight the injustice.

    Like

    1. Yes, I think if we can find a silver lining in this one, it’s that the authors are in solidarity to bring justice not only to the authors whose books were banned but also to the children who were and are denied representation in a place where they ought to be reached sympathy and acceptance. And yeah, 210 freaking US dollars!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, this seems like a really fun new feature! I wonder if Rickon Stark will be around at all in GoT — his projected storyline based on location in the books is absolutely killer, if you know what I mean 😄 And ARGH I have yet to read Go Set A Watchman but apparently Atticus now has a dark side. WHAT EVEN.

    Like

    1. I still haven’t picked up GSAW! I think I’ll wait for another month, just to let all the controversies and general public opinion die down a bit. And I have ZERO idea what will happen next to Rickon. Srsly.

      Like

  3. I’m kind of glad Bran is returning…except I’m not emotionally ready for him to be killed off. I really hope that doesn’t happen. It would kill me. And I haven’t read the books so I don’t even know what’s going to happen to Rickon.

    And $210 is just…wow. Wow. Wayyy too much money. Wow. #nowords

    Like

    1. I’ve only read up to Book 3, so since Season 5 started, everything’s a surprise to me too. Rickon. Wherever is he now?! And YES, Bran. They better not bring him back just so they can kill him off. Also? Sansa and Margaery. If any of the two got killed off next season WITHOUT PURPOSE THAT MAKES SENSE, I’m ditching GoT. Just saying. Also also? $210 is just WAY overboard.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This ditching GoT thing? Been there. I tried Miel, I TRIED SO HARD, but obviously my soul is not going to rest until it has completely Swiss-cheesed itself with holes that can only be filled with the lives of all the dead characters IN THAT GODFORSAKEN SHOW. Ahem.

        Like

  4. AMAZING AND WELL DONE NEW FEATURE, SHELUMIEL. And now we end caps.
    I really like the idea of this particular round up and you’ve done such a good job on it. I hadn’t heard about any of these happenings and I am glad to know of them. I guess I’ve missed stuff whilst I’ve been away, but I like seeing things other people know about and I haven’t heard about- it’s enlightening.
    I hadn’t been planning on buying the new HP edition, but it’s good to know how much it’s going to cost. I never knew it’d be that much, even with all the work + detail that’s evidently going and gone into it. I’ll keep an eye out for it at my library, I think.
    x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. This is so kind of you, Romi. Thank you very much! Yes, I just think $210 is too expensive for one book, even if it’s for an illustrated edition or deluxe or HARRY POTTER. However, there IS a regular illustrated edition and it’s only around $21 on Amazon. So there’s that.

      Like

  5. Uhm…. a 3rd Harper Lee book? I’m not sure I’m liking the sound of this anymore tbh… And yeah I heard about the illustrated edition! It costs $270 in Australia like are you kidding me <.<

    Like

    1. It’s SO ridiculous! It leaves one to wonder who the target market for this one is. I mean, I don’t think even hardcore Potterheads will easily jump on board with this. And I CAN’T DEAL with Lee’s lawyer right now. UGH.

      Like

  6. I made a major error and didn’t include the questions for the nominees in my post. So, here you go. What did I nominate you for? Check your DM on Twitter!

    1. If you could go hang out with 2-3 characters for a day, where would you go (fictional), what would you do and why would you do it?
    2. If you could build something using multiple copies of your favorite book of 2015, what would you build, and why?
    3. What is your favorite color?
    4. Sci fi or fantasy? Why?
    5. What are three of your favorite TV show? Which set of characters are most likely to win a swordfight?
    6. Why did you start blogging?
    7. What is your favorite thing to do that is in no way related to the book world, books, or the community?

    Like

      1. Right. Except I’m in another country, with now no access to a computer, and malfunctions whenever I try to type a new post or edit on this device. Which was the reason for posting the questions here instead. 😀

        Like

What are your thoughts?

