You Cut Me, I Bleed Coffee

The Coffee Book Tag

FINALLY. The Tag created just for me! Except. This list is hurting my organization-loving, system-embracing, pattern-revering brain. I’m just saying. You’ll see what I mean in a while. But as I often tell people: you cut me, I bleed coffee. So massive thanks to Awesome-Cait of Paper Fury for tagging me, ergo, bringing this thing to my attention! (You can check out hers in here.) Let’s get brewing:

Coffee Gif 01
via

*Click the cover to be directed to the book’s Goodreads page.*

BLACK
A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Coffee Gif 02via

First item and I’m replicating Cait… I am. You know. Such a loser.* But, no, really. ASOIAF is probably the ONLY series I had to push through because I both love AND hate it. It’s political and has tons of family drama and scheming, which I absolutely adore, but it’s also choke-full of exorbitant details. I mean, what do I care about the grooming of a lordling nobody’s destrier?

A Game of ThronesA Clash of KingsA Storm of SwordsA Feast for CrowsA Dance with Dragons A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

PEPPERMINT MOCHA
A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Stuck in Love Gif 01via

I’d say Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle but that’s copying (yet again) from Cait, so I’ll go with the next title that comes to mind: Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. Although, in all snowy honesty, the former is much more fun than the latter.

Dash and Lily's Book of DaresDash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

HOT CHOCOLATE
A favorite children’s book.

Hot Chocolate Gif 01via

Le Petit Prince is a children’s book, right? ‘Cause I read this on my 20th birthday! But I’d loved it longer than that . . . for no reason besides me being a Francophile.

The Little Prince 01
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO
A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Coffee Gif 06via

I’d say Ness’s More Than This? Just because it continuously flips everything on its head and it also happens to be my first really-really weird read.

More Than This 02
More Than This by Patrick Ness

STARBUCKS
A book you see everywhere.

Taylor Swift Gif 02via

So a I need me a Taylor Swift gif, and b “got a long list Starbucks lovers,” right? How awesome that Starbucks gets to have its own category! And oh, Percy Jackson actually has a line for this: “Hercules, huh? That guy was like the Starbucks of Ancient Greece. Everywhere you turn—there he is.” HA! The Fault in Our Stars is my initial choice. But, well, Cait. Hence, I reap the next elite tribute (see what I did there?):

The Hunger Games
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP
A book by an indie author (a shoutout).

Hip Gif 01via

I haven’t really read a self-published work, so my best friend gets to have this spot because why not? She’s a local writer, too.

The Bet
The Bet by Kimberly Joy Villanueva

OOPS! I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF
A book you were expecting more from.

Coffee Gif 05via

Did you ever, after closing a certain book, feel like you’ve read it at the wrong time? Not due to sex and violence like you’re in middle school. Just—you get the idea. The Interestings seemed that to me. In fact, it left me with a reading slump. Sad, sad summer story of my life. Disclaimer: the novel isn’t objectively terrible. It’s not you, Meg; it’s me.

The Interestings
The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

THE PERFECT BLEND
A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

Coffee Gif 03via

Easily Erin Morgenstern’s debut. I. freakin’. love. this. to. bits. and. pieces.

The Night Circus 01
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

GREEN TEA
A book or series that is quietly beautiful.

Coffee Gif 04via

Last time I checked, green tea isn’t coffee? And, yes, that’s coffee Thor demands. But, um, Sáenz’s multiple award-winning Aristotle and Dante is one of those books I want to shove in people’s hands because it’s so beautiful that I can’t even. Seriously.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

CHAI TEA
A book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

The Tomorrow People Gif 01via

What are we proving here? Chocolat is very atmospheric in that it brings you to South-Western France and leaves trails of chocolate in your fingers and the smell of burnt sugar and candied fruits in your nose.

Chocolat
Chocolat by Joanne Harris

But if we’re talking out-of-this-world far off places, nothing beats Lev Grossman in that score.

The Magicians 01   The Magician King   The Magician's Land 01
The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman

EARL GREY
Favorite classic.

Coffee Gif 07via

Okay, I give up. I even cheated with the gif, but this is The COFFEE Book Tag? As for my pick, DUH.

To Kill a Mockingbird 01To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Or if you think earl grey doesn’t go well with To Kill a Mockingbird (take lemonade instead), here:

Pride and Prejudice 01Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Now I want my iced caramel macchiato! Tagging the following coffee beans:

Alyssa @ The Devil Orders Takeout
Cristian @ The Bookish God
Joe @ Thoughts and After Thoughts
Kate @ The Magic Violinist
Levi Isaac @ Levi Isaac’s Blog
Liam @ Liam’s Library
Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books
Miggy @ The Quirky Reader
Summer @ Xingsings
Wesaun @ Oreo and Books

What is your favorite coffee and book pairing?

*Props to you for getting the reference!

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

Signature 02

23 thoughts on “You Cut Me, I Bleed Coffee

  1. Thanks for tagging me! I have a love/hate relationship with these tags, because I LOVE DOING THEM I DO but they always make my TBR so long SO FAST. *weeps* And when I was reading Cait’s post I was totally saying to myself, “Yep, that’s what I’d pick too. Oh, yes, that one too. Oh, ABSOLUTELY.” And like three people tagged me for this so that’s thrice as many books to avoid.

    BUT SERIOUSLY LIKE NIGHT CIRCUS IS JUST AMAZING ISN’T IT

    (I feel like I used too much caps here. But caps are like Starbucks. They’re everywhere and that’s really okay.)

    Like

    1. YOU CAN USE ALL THE CAPS YOU WANT, ALYSSA. I have a love/hate relationship with tags, too, but for different reasons. One being I feel like I’m just picking the same books over and over! Gaaah. Boohoo me. But, yeah, it’s often hard to not feel an affinity to Cait’s picks. That lady is awesome! And READS ALL THE FREAKING TIME!

      Like

  2. Thanks for tagging me! I enjoyed your picks; and I picked up on a few of your references—can’t wait to finish MHTN so I can include it! I picked the same two from Cait’s post as well!

    Like

      1. Nope. Had to stop, it was too much for me. It really was; I was not prepared.

        Like

  3. I’m not much of a fan of GIFs but I am a little in love with the ‘Just Black’ Breaking Bad one.

    Like

      1. Watch Breaking Bad! It’s about a chemistry teacher who gets diagnosed with cancer and so, in order to support his family after he’s dead, starts to cook crystal meth. It sounds like it’s a bit of a lad’s show but it’s so much more than that.
        Fun Fact: after refusing to watch the show for two years, I reluctantly gave in last winter and I ended up marathoning the entire six series in a week; I think I watched 14 episode’s in one day at one point.
        I ramble. It’s a great show. Add it to your to watch list.

        Like

      2. Oh, Levi, you totally blew off that pitch. But even if not, I don’t think I would’ve watched it anyway. Don’t take it personal. It’s just that I don’t do TV series. Well, except GoT. But only that!

        PS. 14 episodes? O.O Are they an hour each?

        Like

  4. Ahhh!! THIS WAS SO GREAT. And I completely concur on your feelings of ASOIAF. Gawsh, I do kind of love the series (well, I’m halfway through book 2 so I guess I’m too much of a baby fan to comment, heheheh) BUT yes, some parts are soooo boooooring. I got to like 60% and I just haven’t felt like tackling my audio for like a week. :O My bad! I shall get back to it…

    AHHHH, The Hunger Games is an excellent tribute. 😉 And I KNEW YOU’D PICK TKAM. I JUST KNEW.

    Bestest coffee gifs ever, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to reconsider my strategies. First, Winger. Now, TKAM. YOU’RE LEARNING TOO MUCH ABOUT ME. But, I hope you push through with A Clash of Kings because Book 3 really picks up. With the pacing, character development AND off-with-the-head-ing (yeah, I’m aware of the things you like too). And thank you for that gif comment! I do try, you know. I try.

      Like

  5. Omg, haha! Those gifs are so appropriate. XD

    And this looks so fun, thank you for the tag! I already know I’m going to struggle with the indie author one. And oh my gosh, speaking of To Kill a Mockingbird… I haven’t read it yet! TT.TT I must must must remedy that this summer. I’ve seen banners and posters for Go Set a Watchmen like everywhere.

    (Oh and you should know, I don’t drink coffee either.) 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wait wait. WHAT NONSENSE? I feel like people who don’t drink coffee aren’t to be trusted. Just as much as people who don’t like any type of music. SUMMER. ARE YOU MAD?

      Having then laid out my point… TKAM! Isn’t it part of the required reading in America? O.O I seriously thought kids in the US were thrusted with this book in schools. Like, in the read-this-or-never-step-foot-in-this-institution-ever-again fashion. I guess I presume too much.

      Thank you for the gif observation! Weirdly, that means a lot to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nah, you’re mostly right! All of my friends that have grown up with me have read TKAM in Literature at some point, some even several times in multiple classes. I guess I was that unlucky kid that happened to be enrolled with teachers that thought the year I was with them was the year TKAM was not a priority read. (I can imagine you protesting about how TKAM should always be priority read, LOL.)

        But don’t worry, I will definitely get my hands on a copy this summer!

        And I was afraid of mentioning my lack of coffee drinking and me being a Harper Lee virgin (that just sounded so weird), so I’m glad I redeemed myself a bit with the gif observation. 😉

        Like

  6. I absolutely love reading this tag! I was tagged myself a while back so I definitely must get onto this one soon! And yes, I love your response for black coffee! I’d imagine mine would be Stormdancer or something xD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for dropping by, Melanie! Yeah, it was such a fun list to fill in! I find ASOIAF a popular answer to this kind of category. Like, in every other tag. I haven’t read Stormdancer though.

      Like

  7. Ah, this is fantastic! I love your choices and have never enjoyed this tag more- also, for me being a coffee free person, those other drinks being added to the tag was neat, if… well perhaps a little odd. BUT CHAI. So nice. Matching up P&P with tea is so brilliant, and The Bet looks really neat so I’m definitely going to check it out. I love the cover, for one! Nice to meet you, fellow blogger!
    Romi @ wherethewritercomestowrite.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Romi! And hello! It’s not that I hate tea, I actually love matcha, it’s just that I’m a self-diagnosed OCPD so I care about organizations and patterns. You know what I mean? And I see that you’re not from the Philippines. I think you can check out The Bet from Wattpad, if you’re interested. 😉 Again, thank you for the visit!

      Like

  8. I know, you tagged me a while ago, do I seem like a stalker? Sorry, haha, I just passed by this post again, and realized I didn’t even comment, shame on me.
    I love The Little Prince, read it a while ago but I still remember it strongly, it’s such a powerful book. Aristotle and Dante seems like such an amazing book, maybe it’s time I put it on my TBR…! 😀
    Thanks for tagging me, I can’t wait to do this one! 🙂

    Like

What are your thoughts?