Scenes I Need to See in the Simon vs Film

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda 02

It is a truth universally acknowledged that this fanboy is SO stoked for the movie adaption of Becky Alberalli’s debut Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Not only does Simon Spier have the most pitch-perfect of voices, the book also is a 320 pages of adorable. And now that rumors surrounding the actor playing Blue are finally confirmed (do not click the link unless you know who Blue is because spoiler), it is time to put together a list of scenes from the novel fans need to see in the big screen. And by fans, I mean myself.

For hardcore Simonites, you will notice I did not include Garrett’s Halloween Party and The Carnival. Evidences in the form of set photos assure fans we’ll get those. Then again, you probably already know. So, here goes:

1. The Autocorrect Fail.
Simon vs switches between Simon narrating and entries from his e-mails with Blue. One that particularly cracked me up is an entry where Simon e-mails Blue from his phone and, well, autocorrect fail. I won’t share the whole thing but it has the line: “DICK a good guess.” Simon is pretty freaking embarrassed and we need to see Nick Robinson blushing!

2. Simon’s Golden Birthday Plus E-Mail Thread After.
Because sugar high Simon is sugar high Simon and he is a-do-ra-ble. And the cake scene at lunch! People are shameless about cake and we need to see Nick Robinson covered in frosting! I mean, his face. Okay, I need to shut up. I needed to shut up like five minutes ago.

3. Simon Wearing Eyeliner for Oliver!
Because the EYES. So, Simon is in a play called Oliver! And the Friday before opening night, the cast performs a sneak preview for the students of Creekwood High School. Abby applies eyeliner on our boy and the result is EYES. Obviously, we just need to see Nick Robinson framed in close-up shots.

4. Peter and Webster’s.
One of my absolute favorite scenes in the book is when Abby and Nick take Simon to a night out. They go to this “gay bar” restaurant, where Simon meets college student Peter and it is all kinds of cute and flirty! (Shush, I’m still Team Blue. Geez.) But we clearly need to see wasted Nick Robinson! Bonus points for Colton Haynes who plays Kevin. Not a typo. He is the film version of Peter.

5. Really, Just Give Us All the E-Mail Exchanges Between Simon and Blue.
Please and thank you!

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is set to hit theaters March 16, 2018. Which means you have all the time in the world to catch up. Go pick up a copy and thank me later.

Amazon | IndieBound | Fully Booked

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda 03
via

So, which scene(s) are you most looking forward to seeing in the big screen? Did I miss your favorite(s)? Do tell me in the comments below!

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

10 thoughts on “Scenes I Need to See in the Simon vs Film

  1. I hope they include the scene where Simon accidentally gets Bram’s test back instead of his own! Talk about cute and blushy. Really, just all the scenes with Bram. Please.

    Like

  2. Oh this is such a great post, I am too excited for this movie to be released. I can’t wait to see it and I hope ALL of the emails exchanges are featured in it, with all of their adorable-ness. ❤

    Like

  3. Omg, I had absolutely no idea that Simon was getting a live action adaptation! This is the best news I’ve stumbled upon all week. And YES, those are all absolute must scenes, especially 1-3.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing this, Shelumiel. I probably wouldn’t have found out otherwise since I’m so behind on bookish news and never check my Twitter (which is where all the buzz begins typically).

    Like

What are your thoughts?

