Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which book bloggers list their top ten picks for whatever the current prompt is.

It is time for mid-year lists! I initially intended to do my Top 3 sometime next week, but since today’s TTT is basically that and a little more, I’m gonna go ahead book pimping!

NOTE: This list is in ascending lineup and the upper three were picked solely from a pool of new releases.

*Click the cover to be directed to the bookโ€™s Goodreads page.*

Playlist for the Dead 01   Siege and Storm 01   Vanishing Girls 02

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff
A gawky, nerdy, witty narrator with a subtle undertone of snark? Yes please and thank you very much! Also, this book is a portrait of teenagers trying to balance on the precarious tightrope between wanting to find a place in the society and navigating the sea of expectations imposed upon by the various people surrounding them.

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
STURM-FREAKING-HOND! (By now, you’ve probably seen this at least a dozen times, but sorry not sorry.) Siege and Storm is such a rewarding sequel. With more power play and emotional tension, it’s effortlessly entertaining and fiercely moving.

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver
This is more a character study, less a crime novel. Oliver doesn’t casually use the term “complex” and there’s a major WTF moment.

All the Bright Places 02   Guardian   Mosquitoland

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Not my first title on depression and mental illness but definitely the one on the subject of [spoiler]. Thoughtful, provocative and visceral.

Guardian by Alex London
Guardian, like its predecessor Proxy, blasts one stereotype after another. The action matches the emotional weight of the story and just, the depiction of unrequited love is three bars too close for me. Also, representation.

Mosquitoland by David Arnold
The greatest triumph of this debut lies in its MC’s growth, juxtaposed with her quest to reach and save her mom. Her physical journey is as captivating as her emotional one is touching. Plus, exceedingly unforgettable characters, people!

Winger 06   More Happy Than Not 03   The Darkest Part of the Forest   Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Winger by Andrew Smith
Do I even have to write something for this one? I DID A F*CKING BY-THE-NUMBERS ARTICLE.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Oh, this one’s your typical coming out stoโ€”HOW ABOUT NO? Adam sucker punched me not once! More Happy Than Not is unrelenting and poignant and geeky and chemistry-laden and painfully honest but ultimately hopeful.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
Leave it to Black to be all beautiful and lyrical; I can let her words wash over me any day. Make no mistake, The Darkest Part of the Forest is fantastical, but at the heart of it, it’s as much about family dysfunction.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
WTF ARE WORDS?!!! So, okay. I seriously think this’ll be my best book of the year. Becky nailed the character voice you guys! Her debut is sexually AND racially diverse, in a sensitive manner. It tackles the joys and complications of a close-knit family as well as the politics of friendship. It’s adorable and charming and lovely and, just, I’m in love with this novel! Hard.

What made YOUR list?

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

Signature 02

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

      1. Let’s see…I haven’t heard of Playlist for the Dead, Guardian, and The Darkest Part of the Forest. Plus More Happy Than Not and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – those two I hadn’t heard of before this topic, BUT I saw them on several other TTT lists as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I love these topics and the diversity of the book bloggers I follow because I always find new fabulous books!

        Like

    1. Uh, Lauren, I don’t know why I can’t leave a comment on your blog but here’s what I’d say if I can:

      So, basically, your list reflects my TBR. Fantastic selection! I’m really excited for The Alex Crow!

      Like

  1. I so fist pumped when I saw Siege & Storm on here!!! That’s one of my fave sequels ever and YESSSS STURMHONDDDD!!!! I really must pick up myAll The Bright Places and Playlist for the Dead soon. Also, I’ll get my hands on the rest at some point for sure. ๐Ÿ˜€ Awesome list, Miel!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited to read a bunch of these, especially More Happy Than Not- your tag and passion for it have ME impassioned and I feel sure that it’s a really important and kinbd of magical read awaiting me. So of course I’m wildly excited to see. Other than that, I’ve only read Simon from your favourites list, and we agree on the fact it’s terribly wonderful. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fewer things in life make me happier than convincing other people to pick up a book I love, so thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ And, yes, it is that and more! As for Simon vs, I cannot not talk about it. Srsly.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

