REVIEW: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted 02

Title: Uprooted
Author: Naomi Novik
Format: E-ARC
Publication: May 21st 2015 by Macmillan (first published May 19th 2015)
Source: Publisher via Netgalley (thank you Pan Macmillan and Netgalley!)
Genre: Fiction—Fantasy
Other classifications: Adult, Witchcraft and Wizardry

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository | Fully Booked

Synopsis

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood’s powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia—all the things Agnieszka isn’t—and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

Review

I received a review copy from the publisher which in no way swayed my opinion about the work.

What’s with me and these witch books? As I mentioned in my review of The Witch Hunter, I’ve been in a streak. Uprooted is my third novel on the sub-genre in the last two months and I seem to keep wanting more. But of the three, how magic works in Novik’s world is probably the most fascinating, in that it’s unexpectedly unique and completely immersive. Of course, medieval stories set in a perfunctorily veiled European country is not uncommon. But the author shifts the landscape with Polnya, a seemingly fantastical version of Poland, away from the go-to England. And the way she built the Wood is just enthralling and palpable; you can almost feel it breathing.

“It didn’t make much sense to me. We were all afraid of the Wood. But our valley was home. How could you leave your home?”

Agnieszka’s people live in constant fear of the Wood and the creatures that populate it, lurking in the shadows of trees, taking stray men unawares or children playing in the fields. But even so, for these people, home is home and it’s protected by the Dragon, a powerful wizard living in a tower at the crest of the valley. He holds the Wood at bay for the whole kingdom of Polnya and he only asks that one girl be taken under his service for ten years. What the girl does or why the Dragon demands this, no one can be certain. All that’s clear is when the girl returns, she wants to leave the valley for good. While the story has a slow start and loses its momentum halfway through, there is one particular white knuckles battle sequence that more than compensates for it. This is bolstered by strong characterization, a quiet love story and a well written friendship, laying down the foundations of an epic read. Novik, however, like her characters, has one or two flaws. Uprooted has rough-around-the-edges prose and it reads as a trilogy packed into a stand-alone.

“”I don’t want more sense!” I said loudly, beating against the silence of the room. “Not if sense means I’ll stop loving anyone. What is there besides people that’s worth holding on to?””

In a variety of levels, Uprooted is reminiscent of Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest, but chiefly of the former. The way witches are treated in the capital reminded me of the grishas in Ravka, the I-don’t-fit-in-a-box protagonist with abilities unlike her peers, but mostly the striking resemblance between the Dragon and the Darkling—and not only with the first letters of their names. It’s in the fog of mystery around them, the magnitude of power and self-command, the reluctance, their effect on people. I’m not saying these are disappointments; these are mere observations. Plus, the Dragon is way snarkier and I highly enjoyed that about him, especially the chemistry he and Agnieszka clearly have. Even when they weren’t rooting for each other*, the two make a good duo. Their banters are just pure fun.

“The pain got worse instead of better. I pulled away from them and tried to press myself into the wall, the cool hard stone, as if I could make myself a part of it and be unfeeling.”

At the heart of the book is Agnieszka and Kasia’s friendship. It is one of the main driving forces of the story and I really admire how Novik delivers. And, while the pacing is quite less than outstanding and a three-part series would’ve left more room for deeper character exploration, Uprooted still is worth checking out, more so if magic and witches/wizards are your thing.

Lastly, many have called this YA, and it must be said that when I requested this title, for reasons hazy, I thought it was too. Except it isn’t. The protagonist is seventeen but the tone and style of the narrative is undoubtedly adult.

3.5 out of 5

Author

Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik is an avid reader of fantasy literature since age six, when she first made her way through The Lord of the Rings. She is also a history buff with a particular interest in the Napoleonic era and a fondness for the work of Patrick O’Brian and Jane Austen. She studied English literature at Brown University, and did graduate work in computer science at Columbia University before leaving to participate in the design and development of the computer game Neverwinter Nights: Shadow of Undrentide. Over the course of a brief winter sojourn spent working on the game in Edmonton, Canada (accompanied by a truly alarming coat that now lives brooding in the depths of her closet), she realized she preferred writing to programming, and on returning to New York, decided to try her hand at novels.

Naomi lives in New York City with her husband and six computers.

Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Website

*See what I did there?

Have you read this one yet? If you’re deciding whether or not to pick it up, was I helpful? Also, let’s talk magic and witches, throw them books (or films) my way!

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

Signature 02

12 thoughts on “REVIEW: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

  1. If you want another fascinating and immersive magic sustem, check out A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin. Urban sorcery and life/magic relations that are just beautifully done–but then it’s all a point of view.

    I’ve been wanting to read Uprooted (and have it on my shelf) but I do wonder why you felt it was a trilogy squished in one book?

    Like

    1. Oooh. I checked this on Goodreads and it sounds intriguing. Thank you for the rec! Although I was looking for witchy books specifically. Hmm. I felt that way because it felt too long, and in some parts even dragging. There were developments which would’ve been better addressed and explored if there were more rooms. And, just, I felt bloated at times.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. HAH this one was definitely immersive. World-building-wise? Awesome. Character development? Awesome. But despite all that, I took a break around 50% and haven’t gotten around to it since then XD The writing can go in circles sometimes and it’s just so dense O_O I still plan to read and finish it though… soon. VERY SOON.

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  3. I am literally about to read it NOW. It’s on my bed. I just thought, “Eh, I need read blogs first”. AND THEN IT IS MINE. MWAHAH. So I thought it was YA too, but, oops. >_> Hopefully it’s YA-ish-ness (totally a word) enough that I don’t drown in too much complex adult fantasy-ness. (But then, I’m reading Game of Thrones so I shouldn’t be panicking over a standalone fantasy!!) XD ANYWAY. I’m glad it’s reminiscent of The Darkest Part of the Forest and the Grisha books because I love them. I’m a little bit more cautious after your review, buuuut, still kinda excited.
    WAIT. So the dragon isn’t actually a dragon? I AM SAD.

    Like

    1. HAHAHA! Oh gods no, he is a wizard! Although I know you have a thing for dragons, so I feel you. And, YEAH, if you danced your way through the first two books of ASOIAF, you should be fine. I cannot wait to hear what you think!

      Like

  4. Gah I cannot WAIT to dig into this! Have you heard that they’re going to make a movie out of this?! And Ellen Degeneres is directing it, apparently! DOESN’T THAT MAKE YOU WANT TO BREAKDOWN AND CRY YOUR HAPPINESS?! Miguel mentioned the banter between the Dragon and Agnieszka and I’m so, so eager to read that! Thanks for the review, buddy 🙂 Pushing this up my TBR as I type this ;P

    Like

  5. Okay, I was also expecting this to be YAish, but it sounds amazing and I love the cover, synopsis and have that intensely excited feeling. It makes me think this is just going to be a really, really good read for me. And I love fantasy, witches/wizards, so I should enjoy it.
    Really nice review (and quote choices), Shelumiel, and I adore your rating image. It is gorgeous and I love it. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Romi! Those are mockingbirds because I love To Kill a Mockingbird so much! Yes, the cover is just charming! And I hope you pick this one up soon and end up liking it better than I did.

      Like

What are your thoughts?

