Stacking the Shelves #1

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews in which book bloggers share their latest bookish acquisition.

Hey wonderful bloggers! So I know Bookish and Awesome has been quiet for two weeks. This is due to my recently concluded Basic Training, which took most of my daytime (the rest of the night, I read). Yes, I’m living a “somehow” double life. My professional life—if I ever have one—is spent with spatulas and mixers and eggs and cream and olive oil and salt; the other half of my waking hours, I don my Fanboy clothes (what, Fanboying consumes a hefty amount of time!). The somehow is in air quotes because it’s not like it’s unbeknownst to the people around me. And oh. By Fanboying I mean blogging and staying on Twitter.

But anyway, back to the topic at hand. Since I’m not a hauler person, I’ve decided to do Stacking the Shelves instead. In here, I’d still be able to share my book purchases, which are often by two’s, and e-ARC/DRC approvals without the pressure of arranging a collection. Here goes the first one.

Physical Copies

Half Bad 01Half Bad by Sally Green

I read Virginia Boecker’s The Witch Hunter earlier this week and it’s fantastic you guys! Now feeling in the mood for more witchcraft in YA, I picked up Half Bad. Plus it goes strongly recommended by Cait of Paper Fury and Cristian of The Bookish God.

Noggin 01Noggin by John Corey Whaley

I’m not even one hundred percent certain why I bought this one besides the fact that it’s weird. I mean, preserving one’s head for five years and then reattaching it into another body? W-E-I-R-D.

E-galleys

Boo 01
Boo by Neil Smith

Because TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD REFERENCE. And I’m growing fond of thirteen-year-old-school stories as of late. (Thank you Joey of Thoughts and Afterthoughts for putting this on my radar!)

Uprooted 01Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Fairy tales, sacrifices and The Darkling-esque figure? Count me in! And that cover!

Also, can you give me a minute to rant? For SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA STILL HASN’T HIT THE SHELVES HERE IN THE PHILIPPINES AND THIS IS TOO MUCH!!!

What are your recent bookish acquisition? Have you read any of these titles (The Witch Hunter included)? Which do you suggest I read first? Let’s talk in the comments below!

You can also stalk follow me elsewhere! On Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Goodreads, and Bloglovin.

Signature 02

14 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #1

  1. Half Bad and Noggin are both awesome! If you end up liking Noggin, I would also suggest reading John Corey Whaley’s other novel called Where Things Come Back. It’s less strange, but it still has some quirkiness to it. Both are really great though!

    Like

  2. Uprooted looks GORGEOUS. Like, seriously, I’m going to Goodreads ASAP for that one. xD I hope you enjoy Noggin! I was really excited for it because, um: HEADLESSNESS. Buuut….eh. It turned out to be more like a straight-cut-and-dry romance with an awkward age difference. *shrugs* But I’m picky. 😉 We all know that. HA.
    OH AND HALF BAD MIGHT JUST BE MY FAVOURITEST BOOK IN THE UNIVERSE SO READ IT! READ IT! *calms self* Really, the writing is so unique and the characters and ajfdlskasd I JUST NEED A MOMENT.
    Oohhh, you’re a cook/chef? THAT IS FUN. Food is mildly glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Food is mildly glorious” HAS GOT TO BE THE UNDERSTATEMENT OF THE MONTH! Food should rule Earth, together with Book, Coffee and Cake (yes, Cake IS a separate entity because duh).

      And Uprooted, right? RIGHT? Also, boohoo that you didn’t like Noggin! But, well, you ARE picky.

      Thanks for paying my court a visit, Awesome-Cait, despite your outrageous schedule!

      Like

What are your thoughts?

