No One Knows I Love Cake

The Cake Book Tag

So I was going through Awesome-Cait’s articles (of Paper Fury fame) the other day (true story: how can she write all these posts AND read so much books AND writer her own novels?) and apparently, it struck me, NO ONE KNOWS I LOVE CAKE.

But it’s okay. *Moves in the corner, lies down and curls up fetal-position.* I’m doing The Cake Book Tag anyway, because why not?

Cake 01via

*Click the cover to be directed to the book’s Goodreads page.*

FLOUR
A book that was a little slow to start off but really picked up as it went along.

Flour 01via

First thing that comes off the pathetically-beanstalkish-scrawny List of Books Shelumiel Read is Gone Girl. I mean, I was intrigued from page 1 but not until when the bomb that was as big as Missouri was dropped did I feel like I had to finish it in one sitting. Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights is a close runner up (I almost gave up, actually; now it’s one of my beloved classics).

Gone GirlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

BUTTER
A book that had a rich, great plot.

Butter 01via

I’m the neighbor who’s a sucker for characterization but The Magician King‘s plot is so loaded and complex and exquisitely harrowing (not that this category calls for the last one). Seriously, you have to check out Grossman’s Magicians trilogy if you haven’t already.

The Magician KingThe Magician King by Lev Grossman

Also, I looooooove me some butter.

EGGS
A book you thought was going to be bad but actually turned out quite enjoyable.

Eggs 01via

Eggs are amazing, how about we start with that?

And then, having made my rhetorical point I will resume to tackle this item. What? That sounds familiar? Right. Because I just quoted the book I’m throwing in next. John Green’s The Fault in Ou—hold up! WHOA WAIT. Drop your pitchforks and torches. I picked up TFIOS in the wake of its hype, you see. So naturally I was a ball of skepticism. Six books later, John Green is one of my Top 5 Favorite Authors.

The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

SUGAR
A sugary, sweet book.

Sugar 01via

I’m so bad with choosing only one like I’m so bad with turning away from cakes. And coffee. And butter in any form. Obviously I can go on and on but I will stop. These two had me smiling, alone on my bed, like the creep that I am.

Fangirl   Let it Snow
Fangirl
 by Rainbow Rowell
Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle

ICING
A book that covered every single element that you enjoy about a book (funny moments, action moments, sad moments, etc.).

Icing 01via

Reckon I told you John Green is a house favorite? Fact checked. I love Paper Towns to bits and pieces and I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE FILM ADAPTATION AND THE TRAILER CAME OUT LAST WEEK AND EXCUSE ME. (I’d shoot for The Nights Circus by Erin Morgenstern too, except there’s no comic relief.)

Paper Towns 02Paper Towns by John Green

SPRINKLES
A book series that you can kind of turn back to for a little pick me up when you’re feeling down.

Sprinkles 01via

I’m not much of a series person but Uncle Rick’s retelling of the Greek (and Roman) Mythology is easily my cushion. In fact, even the fanfiction gets me in most days.

PJO #1PJO #2PJO #3PJO #4PJO #5
HOO #1HOO #2HOO #3HOO #4HOO #5
The Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

PS. I am also not the rereader type; To Kill a Mockingbird is an anomaly.

THE CHERRY ON TOP
Your favorite book this year so far.

Cherry 01via

When you cheated once… No, really, I’m awful at this. (Trivia: a Guardian is my first 2015 read, b The Darkest Part of the Forest is my first from new releases, c Charlie, my nickname for Alex London which he approves and you need not know of, loved The Darkest Part of the Forest.)

Guardian   The Darkest Part of the Forest
Guardian
 by Alex London
The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

There! The moral? Shelumiel LOVES CAKES AND YOU PROBABLY SHOULD TOO.

Cake 02via

Tagging the following confections:

Joey @ Thoughts After Thoughts
Levi Isaac @ Levi Isaac’s Blog (yes, Joey totally sold me the Levi Isaac)
Liam @ Liam’s Library
Kate @ The Magic Violinist
Miguel @ The Quirky Reader
Cristian @ The Bookish God

Signature 02

9 thoughts on “No One Knows I Love Cake

  1. WELL. NOW I KNOW YOU LIKE CAKE. This is very good information, and I approve. *nods* Oh but pffft, these kind of things are made for cheating. I think I listed like 4 books per question , didn’t I? RULES ARE FOR MERE MORTALS.
    And that icing gif killed me. *wipes drool off laptop*
    I LOVED THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST SO SO MUCH TOO!! IT IS ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. I never reread but I want to reread that book someday. :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gods, Awesome-Cait. “RULES ARE FOR MERE MORTALS”? We SHOULD make tees out of that. And mugs and wall print-outs and whatnots. We’ll make tons of money! Money to buy more, yes you guessed it, CAKE.

      And, oh, you drooled? MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! The Darkest Part of the Forest has a special spot in my heart. ❤

      Like

  2. I like generic Asian cakes more than generic Western cakes (mainly because I dislike fondant…and so many of them are made with fondant). Except I wouldn’t be able to tell you what my favourite cake is (I think it changes per season). Anyhow, thank you for the tag…you’ve just added another one to my infinite list of tag/awards to complete. *grumblebutnotreally*

    Cheers,
    Joey

    Liked by 1 person

    1. JOEY! I was like, WTF is a genetic Asian cake? And I AM Asian oh my gods. *Facepalm.*

      Any road, I’m really curious on what you’ll put up in the “Eggs” category. And I’m pretty sure, no scratch that I’m absolutely sure, you’ll squeeze in Patrick Ness in there somewhere. *Winks.*

      Like

      1. Oh I know you are. I guess I should have worded it like: there’s a difference in palate likeness in the amount of tolerance for sweetness and the like here in North America (I find) that ‘Asian-crafted’ cakes are less sweet than the Western counterparts. The cake statement was literal, perhaps, and not metaphorical to suggest a book was an ingredient…or maybe not?

        Like

  3. NOW I’M HUNGRY FOR CAKE THANK YOU FOR THAT.

    Ooh, nice picks for sugary sweet! 🙂 I might steal, ahem, borrow that one from you. Also, totally agree with you about Gone Girl. It’s not slow by any means, but I’m like a 125 pages in and I haven’t felt the need to stay up all night reading with cartoon-character-bugging-out-of-my-head eyes yet. I’m sure I’ll get there.

    This looks like a ton of fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

