Rainbow Rowell Week, Day 5: More Than the Books

Rainbow Rowell Week

Rainbow Rowell is an Awesome Human Being Period.

For five days this week*, Bookish and Awesome is celebrating Rainbow Rowell Appreciation Week. You can read the previous posts here, herehere and here.

I don’t know about you but what really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call—wait, what? No no no no. Of course I agree with Salinger, but we have Twitter now, right? Right. (Also, I’m super awkward with phone calls.) And, while I become a fan of writers based on their works, I love me an author that I know and feel is a real person. Someone who talks about other stuff besides his/her book(s). Besides books in general, actually. Someone like Rainbow Rowell.

And so for today (the last day of Rainbow Rowell Week you guys!), let’s have a round of Rainbow Wisdom, shall we? Here goes!

I feel things very intensely. And I also think that real life is more romantic if you allow it to be, if you don’t act like it’s immature to get excited.” (This reminds me of something Alex London, another beloved author who wrote Proxy and Guardian, told me on Tumblr: “never apologize for fanboying! It’s a wonderful thing to be excited about stuff.”)

If you think YA is simple, you probably haven’t read a lot of it. But YA is not a genre. It’s just this really loosely defined category of books.”

“I’ve never loved the name “Rainbow”—it seems like a name you’d give to your stuffed unicorn—but I really like having an unusual name. It stands out. And it made me feel like it was okay to stand out. To be different.

“When you’re a teenager, you worry that maybe you’re the only person feeling this weird or scary or perverted thing. And YA books tell you, “Nope. Your weird stuff is pretty normal, and you’re not the only one who’s scared.“”

“When I think of it, Neal isn’t the unusual character for not pursuing his dreams. Georgie’s unusual, because she’s known what she wanted to do since college and now she’s doing it. If you think about it, most people are making do. They’re not living their dreams, but they’re not living a miserable existence, either.”

And Rainbow on Twitter? Wry. Very. And thoughtful, as ever.

THANK YOU SO MUCH, YOU WONDERFUL YOU, FOR TUNING IN AND FOR THE COMMENTS (I ALWAYS, ALWAYS GET VERY EXCITED WHEN ONE OF YOU REACT TO ANY OF WHAT I WRITE)! I hope I’ve encouraged those who still haven’t read Rainbow Rowell to give it a shot. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, RAINBOW! I love you with all my bookish heart!

What about your, dear readers? Who are the authors you think that win in life? Also, if you want to blog about your personal experience with Rowell or her books, grab that header image above and leave a comment below. I’ll link up to you in the coming articles! Or we can bring this to Twitter. YES! Share your Rainbow Rowell stories using the hashtag #RainbowRowellWeek. Again, Happy Rainbow Rowell Appreciation Week!

*Why this week you ask? Because it’s her birthday last 24th!

Signature 02

4 thoughts on “Rainbow Rowell Week, Day 5: More Than the Books

  1. Well, I didn’t comment on the other Rainbow Rowell posts but I definitely loved reading them and I’m so sure I’m missing out by not reading her books, so yeah. It’s on the looong TBR. And what a coincidence that the last day of Rainbow Rowell week falls on my birthday! *moves books up TBR*

    And I love authors who are so genuine on Twitter! V. E Schwab is one of my fav “Twitter authors”. And it takes so much skill to write a good Tweet – 140 characters, an entire story. The modern version of Hemingway’s famed six-word story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, happy birthday Alyssa! *Shoots cookie cannon.* Yes yes yes. Read her books sooner please! Authors who are active on Twitter are really something, because they let us glimpse into their personal lives and they tweet back (mostly)! I also follow V on Twitter and, while I still haven’t read any of her books, I find her tweets often fascinating.

      Thanks for dropping by, Alyssa, and I hope you have an awesome celebration!

      Like

  2. I’m so happy to discover your blog. 🙂 I love Rainbow Rowell, too. All of her books left me dazed and hungry for more. I can’t even decide which one I love most (Eleanor & Park or Attachments?) because I love all of them. I even enjoyed the short story she wrote for My True Love Gave to Me. I can’t wait for her next novel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

