Don’t Judge the Book by Its Cover

But, really, don’t we all do? I mean, I certainly do not determine whether or not I pick up a book solely by its cover but it’s a factor. And a good deal at that. Pretty much just like how a query letter is the writer’s first impression on the agent/publisher, a cover is what draws us, readers, initially to the book. I love me some thoughtful, beautifully crafted cover designs. And today, I share my personal favorites from contemporary young adult titles. (In no particular order.)

Eleanor & Park   Paper Towns
Untitled-4   Paperweight
The Perks of Being a Wallflower   I'll Give You the Sun
Playlist for the Dead   Ciinamon Toast and the End of the World
 Between the Notes

Between the Notes

Look at how simple and lovely that Eleanor & Park is! Seriously, all of Rowell’s books have gorgeous covers. Olga Grlic, who does these amazingness, is a Cover Design Wizard! I also adore how minimalist the layouts for Meg Haston’s Paperweight, Janet E. Cameron’s Cinnamon Toast and the End of the World (I just love that toaster + toasts!) and Michelle Falkoff’s Playlist for the Dead are. Not to mention this edition of John Green’s Paper Towns with its seemingly childlike scribblings. Now, in the case of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything, one look at this charming cover (trust me, it’s 1000% more attractive in person) had me thinking I’ll definitely have this book in my hands before I even checked out the synopsis. And it’s a win, so yaaay! Gimme some good illustrations and typography and I’m absolutely on board.

What about you dear readers and friends? What book covers have you been obsessing lately?

Signature 02

22 thoughts on “Don’t Judge the Book by Its Cover

  1. I ADORE minimalism covers. They’re always my pick. I plan to read Paper Weight just based on cover alone…
    *whispers* I didn’t realise I wasn’t following your blog yet, so that’s fixed. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paperweight and Between the Notes have gorgeous covers! Ahh, they’re so pretty ♥‿♥ I really like the UK covers (at least I think they’re UK editions) of David Levithan’s books. I love how they’ve used quotes from the books to make up the pictures on the cover, it’s just looks really pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I noticed and appreciated all the minimalism! I think it comes off really classy on these covers but not boring.

    I don’t think I’ve read ANY of these books which I cry about. Robin Schneider gets so much praise for Beginning of Everything! And oh, the Rainbow Rowell! There are just so many books and so little time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In which your blog’s name couldn’t have been more appropriate. Lol. But yeah, SO MUCH BOOKS AND SO LITTLE TIME. And kidding aside, I really LOVE The Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Beginning of Everything and Rainbow Rowell (in general, but especially Fangirl).

      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  4. Yessss I love all the minimalistic covers! They’re my favourite type and I love your picks. Paperweight and A Little Something Different are my faves.

    Great post! xD

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I always judge books by the cover, or at least with my first impression. Beautiful covers often get me interested in a book that I might not have checked out without the cover. I love minimalist and artsy covers the best. I’m also thinking that I’ll have to read A Thousand Piece of You just for the gorgeous cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Surprise, surprise, we both love minimalistic covers. 😉 Eleanor & Park is my favorite cover of ever. Another cover I adore is These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a lovely post!

    The covers That I have been obssessing over are:
    1. Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch (!!!)
    A Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (!)
    Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone
    The Truth Commission by Susan Juby
    An EMBER In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
    The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige
    The Death Code by Lindsay Cummings
    Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
    Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (!)
    A Gathering of Shadows by V.E Schwab (!)
    Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (!)

    Like

  8. I saw this post from your Gossip Girl book tag, and I really love me some great covers too. I have to admit that I’m more likely to read books with beautiful covers, I just can’t help it. Also, your picks are awesome! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

